South Australia - Colonial period: 1855-1900.
Date stamps.


A special overprint (but not a date stamp) comprising the initials S.T. (meaning Superintendent of Telegraphs) was produced in South Australia for use on official postal items related to the Telegraph Department.

See details elsewhere.

ST red on blue

Unlike the other Colonies, South Australia had little variety in its date stamps issued for use with telegrams and for telegraphic business. Almost all offices simply used the usual post mark canceller such as those shown in the table below. All examples shown were struck on telegrams:

Naracoorte - unframed.
8 March 1893.
2 line date.
Glenelg - circular frame complete.
4 November 1876.
2 line date.
Morgan - Squared circle.
12 February 1894.
2 line date.

Used from at least by 1892 to about 1918 when new improved methods of cancelling were introduced.
Diameter 24.5 mm.

Gawler - Full circle.
5 January 1942.
One line date.

There are only five types of Telegraph date stamp recorded for South Australia. Four types were made of steel and the other type from rubber. These Telegraph date stamps in steel were mainly used in offices in or near Adelaide although the rubber ones were issued to any suitable office:

  1. Telegraph Office (at CTO);
  2. Telegraph Department (at CTO);
  3. Chief Telegraph Office (at CTO);

  4. Steel Telegraph Office date stamp:
    {Location} in a circle with the Office being complete words or T.O. only;
  5. Rubber Telegraph Office date stamp:
    The main variation amongst the types produced is shape - circular or oval.
Telegraph Office complete with {location} - steel.
TO Port

Diameter: 29 mm.
No date (used March 1878) but PORT across centre. TELEGRAPH OFFICE around the double circles.
Very early.

Telegraph Office as only T.O. with {location} - steel.

TO Port Augusta
Port Augusta T.O.
22 April 189?.


Telegraph Section;
- rubber.
Shape: circular;
- rubber.
Shape: oval;
- rubber.
Adel Oval